Organize your stay
As the residence of the Counts of Montbéliard, the history of the castle is closely linked with the story of the families that reigned over the County for more than eight centuries.
Built on a rocky promontory at the confluence of the Lizaine and Allan valleys, this stronghold, which already existed in the 10th century, was constantly transformed during the course of the centuries.
Today, on the northern side of the edifice, one can admire the Henriette Tower (reconstructed by Countess Henriette in approximately 1424), the Frédéric Tower (1572 and 1595) and the main building dating back to the 18th century.
On the esplanade of the Castle, the Clock pavilion or Hôtel du Bailli (Bailli's quarters, also known as the gentlemen's quarters), built according to plans of the architect Schickhardt at the beginning of the 17th century, houses today the Academy of Music.
The castle has become the Museum of the Castle of the Dukes of Wurtemberg, which includes a historical tour, an important archaeological department whose collections come mainly from excavations of local Gallo-Roman sites, the Cuvier natural history gallery and exhibits of paintings and sculptures of contemporary arts.
Guided tour (in French) to discover history and architecture of the castle, everyday at 3.00pm except on Tuesday. Maximum 20 people per group. No booking requested, subject to guide availability.
Opening times :
Open every day from 10.00 to 12.00noon and from 2.00pm to 6.00pm, except on Tuesdays. Admission is free on the first Sunday of every month. Closed on Tuesdays and bank holidays.
Château des Ducs de Wurtemberg
03 81 99 22 61
03 81 99 22 12
Libre Non communiqué Complet Fermé